My Poop Stops for Nothing!!

I’ve talked about this before, but please do humor me. Today’s topic is about poop. 

My mother has Irritable Bowel Syndrome and my dad was plagued by constipation as well as Diverticulitis. In addition, both of my parents had their gallbladders removed as adults, and I had mine removed at the young age of 27. I do not come from amazing digestive track stock.

I’ve always had a finicky system. I’m sensitive to caffeine but have been less successful in identifying foods that make me poo. For example, when I was attempting to empower my body to ovulate regularly sans medication, I stopped eating gluten and dairy for several months. It did nothing to my poo. I’ve tried a number of different fibers, Chinese herbs, acupuncture, etc. I am impervious. I think my digestive track is a bit wack, for lack of other words.

When my new RE added metformin to the mix in May of 2011, shit hit the fan. I actually used that term in the consult. He grimaced in distaste. What, fancy doctor? You think you can prescribe 2000 mg of regular metformin with impunity? You are dreaming, doc. Dreaming.

Without exaggeration or embellishment, I have had either diarrhea or loose bowel movements since May of 2011. It has made for a long 18 months. The only thing that stopped the diarrhea was pregnancy. As excited as I was to be pregnant, I was equally excited to no longer be shitting my brains out.

Let it be noted that on November 19th at 5 DPO, I had a solid poop. I’ve only had diarrhea once since then and I have had lots of solid, solid poops. Dear God it feels good to have solid poops.

We returned from our holiday travels yesterday, and this morning at 12 DPO I peed on a stick. As is our custom, I did the deed and left the stick on the ledge. Big Guy then got up, checked out the stick and announced the results.

Positive.

I jumped out of bed and yelled, “My poop stops for nothing…except pregnancy!

Poop-stopping hCG.

Some women have distinct early pregnancy symptoms: frequent urination, tender breasts, dizziness, etc. Me? Solid poops. I’ll take it.

48 thoughts on “My Poop Stops for Nothing!!

  1. Wow! I totally did not see that coming, given the title of your post.

    Congratulations!!!!!! I am so thrilled for you! May you have a happy, healthy, solid-pooped pregnancy. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Pretty Panties « Unexplained Rantings

  3. Ha!!! LOVE THIS! Congratulations!!!!!
    I’m so glad I clicked through on Google Reader to read this post! (Originally I was like, oh man… I don’t know if I can read about poop tonight.)
    Here is to nine months of glorious poops! Or more like six months of glorious poops, then my bet it on constipation for the last trimester once all your guts are swished by a huge baby! AHHHHH!! I’m so excited for you.

  4. This post’s title by any other blogger and I might not have read it … but I’m so so glad I did! I’m overjoyed for you and Big Guy – what a beautiful continuation of the holiday festivities! I imagine you have a variety of emotions swirling through you, but I hope you can hold on to some joy and excitement too – and I don’t just mean about pooping solids again.

  5. Holy bezeezus girlfriend!!!!! I’m SO fantastically excited for you!!!! As an IBS sufferer myself, I have to say that the solid pooping has been an HCG bonus (although lately it’s been throwing me the middle finger a bit with constipation). Cannot wait to hear your Beta #s!!

  6. Woah, I had a feeling about you this whole cycle. I just knew you were going to get a BFP. I even stalked your chart daily waiting for it to pop up because I knew it would. Weirdly amazing. I hope so badly that this is the one for you guys!

  7. Well, to use the word of the day, CRAP! Of course you get a BFP right AFTER the last entry I read! And on a cycle you thought was totally bust. I’m glad you’re on the BFP bandwagon that seems to be going around the MDC IF threads1 Hoping this little one remains sticky as he/she has been so far!

Leave a comment